How to Take a Snapshot on VMware Fusion in Mac/macOS

In this article, we will examine how to create a snapshot to back up your guest operating systems in the VMware Fusion 12 Pro virtualization program, which allows you to create virtual machines on Apple Mac computers.

How to Take a Snapshot on VMware Fusion in Mac/macOS

How to Create Snapshots on Fusion 12 Pro on macOS

You can use the snapshot feature to quickly save the instantaneous state of your virtual machines that you have created with Fusion, the virtualization application developed for the macOS operating system. Thanks to this great feature, you can save the instant state of your Windows 10 system that you have installed cleanly, and then quickly undo the changes you have made on your guest system and have a clean system again.

You can create multiple backups using snapshot on your Mac computer and test the difference between versions of a program you developed by configuring each backup with a different name. Another example is that you can take a clean backup beforehand to prevent errors and incompatibilities that may occur when a system update comes to a Windows or Linux system.

How to Back Up a Virtual Machine with Snapshot on macOS

We recommend you to use the snapshot feature after clean installation when you want to back up the Windows, Linux, or macOS operating systems you have installed on your virtual machines. Therefore, after performing system updates on your guest system or a software-related error, you can quickly fix it.

   Step 1

After running your Guest operating system, click the Snapshot icon in the Fusion tool menu.

Opening Snapshot Manager

   Step 2

To save the current state of the Windows 10 virtual system, right-click on the virtual machine in the Snapshots window and click Take Snapshot.

Taking a New Snapshot

   Step 3

After typing a name and description for the backup of your guest machine, click the Take button.

Setting a Backup Name

   Step 4

Wait while the current state of your virtual operating system is being saved. You can see the current backup progress from the progress bar under the Fusion icon in the Dock.

Backing Up Virtual Machine

   Step 5

After backing up your clean installed virtual system, create multiple new folders on the desktop or install any program.

Creating New Folders on Windows 10 Desktop

   Step 6

To undo the changes you have made on your Windows 10 guest machine, open Snapshots and right-click on the backup you have created, and then click Restore Snapshot from the options that appear.

Restore Snapshot

   Step 7

Before you start restoring the Snapshot, you will be asked if you want to save the changes you have made after backing up your virtual system. If you are testing a significant change, you can save existing transactions for later analysis.

But if what you do on the guest machine doesn’t matter to you, you’d better choose not to save the current changes. Therefore, click on the Don’t Save button in the warning window that opens, and continue.

Choosing Not to Save Changes Made to the Guest Machine

   Step 8

Wait while the snapshot you took is being restored.

Restoring Virtual System

   Step 9

After restoring the previous snapshot of your guest machine, you can see that all the changes you have made in your virtual operating system return to the default state.

Virtual System Restored

How to Delete Snapshot

After taking a snapshot with Fusion on macOS, if you don’t need the snapshots for your guest machines, you can delete them in order not to fill the storage space of your host computer with unnecessary backup files.

   Step 1

In the same way, open the Snapshot manager again and right-click on the backup you have taken, and click Delete Snapshot from the options that open.

Deleting a Virtual Machine Snapshot

   Step 2

When you start the deletion process, click the Delete button in the warning window that states that the current state of the virtual machine will not be activated and this operation cannot be undone.

Confirming the Deletion

   Step 3

Wait while the deleted snapshot files are cleaned from your host disk. After this step, you will have successfully deleted the backup you created for your virtual system.

Cleaning Deleted Files

   Video

   Related Articles


How to Create a Virtual Machine on macOS
How to Install Windows 10 on macOS
How to Install macOS on Virtual PC with VMware
How to Install macOS on Virtual PC with VirtualBox
What is Fusion Program?

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

error: